Holstein Canada

Current Media Release

Announcing the 91st Master Breeder Shield Winners

 View PDF

Brantford, ON– The announcement of the Master Breeder recipients has become an annual tradition at Holstein Canada. This tradition is now in its 91st year, and we are pleased to announce the 2020 Master Breeders.

Seven winning herds hail from Ontario; seven from Quebec; two from P.E.I.; and Alberta, B.C., Manitoba, and Nova Scotia all had one. Two of the herds achieved an incredible fourth Shield: ALTONA LEA and RONBETH.

Congratulations to the Master Breeders who joined the ranks of the most elite breeders across Canada!

Prefix Name Location Shield #
ALTONA LEA Frank Barkey & Family Blackstock, Ontario 4
BIRKENTREE Birkentree Holsteins Hunter River, Prince Edward Island 2
BOULET Ferme Boulet Inc. Saint-François-de-la-Rivière-du-Sud, Quebec 3
CLAYHAVEN Melvin G. Martin Wallenstein, Ontario 1
DONFIELD Donfield Farms Ltd. Brandon, Manitoba 3
DREWHOLME Drewholme Holsteins Gowanstown, Ontario 1
DUALANE Kloepfer Holdings Ltd. Ingersoll, Ontario 1
DUHIBOU Ferme Duhibou Inc. Saint-Lambert-de-Lauzon, Quebec 1
FLECHEDOR Annie Lecours & Luc Boisvert Princeville, Quebec 1
KUIPERSCREST Kuiperscrest Holsteins Bloomfield, Ontario 1
LAVENDER Lavender Farms Ltd. Abbotsford, British Columbia 1
LELLAVAN Lellavan Farms Maitland, Nova Scotia 1
MACPES Ferme Macpes Saint-Narcisse, Quebec 2
MIRELLA Ferme Mirella Inc. St-Bernardin, Ontario 1
RAYPEL Ferme Raymond Pelletier & Fils Inc. Saint-Simon-de-Bagot, Quebec 2
ROBEL Ferme Robel Jonquière, Quebec 1
RONBETH Ronbeth Holsteins Hastings, Ontario 4
ROYOLAIT Ferme Royolait Inc. Ange-Gardien, Quebec 1
THORNSPYC Thornspyc Dairy - Van de Brake Family Lacombe, Alberta 1
VALLEYVILLE Frizzell’s Valleyville Farm Inc. Hunter River, Prince Edward Island 2

2020 Master Breeder Contact Information

Contact information for the winning producers is available on the Holstein Canada website.

Since its beginning in 1929, the Master Breeder program has become the most coveted Holstein Canada award. Including this year’s winners, more than 1100 Master Breeder shields have been handed out since 1930 (for the year 1929). For the first time ever, Holstein Canada revealed the winners live to the entire Holstein community in an online event. This livestream was seen by more than 1200 viewers from all over the world.

We recognize these breeders for having mastered the art of breeding balanced cattle – high production and outstanding conformation with great reproduction, health and longevity. We will be celebrating this year’s recipients at the National Holstein Convention Master Breeder Gala in Ottawa, Ontario on Saturday, July 10, 2021. We will also be honouring the 2019 Master Breeders at a special Gala Thursday, July 8, 2021.