Holstein Canada

Cow of the Year


Since 1995, Holstein Canada’s annual Cow of the Year competition aims to recognize elite Canadian cows that have had an impact both domestically and internationally and have been enjoyed by Canadian producers. These animals could be a bull dam; a brood cow; a high or consistent milk producer; a show winner; a high-index animal; or a top cow in another country.

Holstein Canada members are welcomed to submit nominations in the fall for animals they feel deserving to be nominated for the Cow of the Year title. From submitted, eligible nominations, the Holstein Canada Cow of the Year selection committee names four Canadian-bred finalists. Nominees are narrowed to four based on animals that showcase longevity, production, genetic merit, strength of pedigree; and are a great Ambassador of Canadian genetics. And of course, nominees must be Canadian bred!

The Cow of the Year is announced at Holstein Canada's Annual Meeting. The 2020 winner will be announced at the 2021 National Holstein Convention in Ottawa, Ontario.

Cow of the Year Nominating Eligibility Criteria:

  • Animal must be Canadian-bred; and permission must be attained from the cow’s owner prior to being nominated for the award.
  • Animal must be active in the award year in-milk; natural or ET offspring born; or embryo recovery and must have been alive within the past five (5) years.
  • Animal must be able to, or have potential to contribute to the breed on a continual basis
  • No controversy should be involved with finalists
  • Classifications must be attained
  • Production records should be completed
  • Performance of daughters and/or sons is considered
  • Good conformation, plus production components reflecting Canadian balanced breeding should be obvious
  • Winners of the award will be promoted by Holstein Canada and beyond
  • Maximum of four finalists will be chosen
  • A cow is not eligible to be a finalist more than twice
  • If a tie in votes occurs, then both cows will win the Cow of the Year award
Cow of The Year Banner
2018 - COTY 2018 - COTY 2017 - COTY 6 - COTY 2015 - COTY 2014 - COTY 2013 - COTY 2012 - COTY 2011 - COTY 2010 - COTY 2009 - COTY 2008 - COTY 2007 - COTY 2006 - COTY 2005 - COTY 2004 - COTY 2003 - COTY 2002 - COTY 2001 - COTY 2000 - COTY 1999 - COTY 1998 - COTY 1997 - COTY 1996 - COTY 1995 - COTY