

## Media Release

HOLSTEIN CANADA, 20 CORPORATE PLACE, BRANTFORD, ONTARIO CANADA N3T 5R4 PHONE | 519-756-8300 | 1-855-756-8300 | FAX | 519-756-5878 | WEB | WWW.HOLSTEIN.CA

## FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE 06/30/2020

Contact: Linda Ness, Manager, Strategic Communications

<u>Iness@holstein.ca</u>

## Holstein Canada Announces 2020-2021 Committees

**Brantford, ON** – Holstein Canada is pleased to reveal the 2020-2021 Committees, ensuring the Board of Directors continues to receive input from its grassroots membership and industry partners. This year, Jason Rietveld and Tony van Lith have joined the Breed Advisory Committee. We also have added a new Data and Technology Committee.

Jason Rietveld (RIETBEN) is a past president of the Alberta Holstein Association and is currently a delegate for Alberta Milk. He currently milks 120 cows in Fort Saskatchewan, Alberta with his wife Kristine and children Tyson, Troy, and Janaye. 60% of his herd is higher than VG, with herd statistics at 8ME 12EX 61VG 45GP 7G.

**Tony van Lith (LANGEWEER)** helps his family milk 290 cows on his home farm in Woodstock, Ontario. He also registers about 30 high-end Holsteins under the prefix VALIANT. As a young breeder with practical experience, Tony will bring great perspective to the Breed Advisory Committee.

The new Data and Technology Committee consists of Board Members Elyse Gendron, Nancy Beerwort, Benoît Turmel, and Doug Peart, as well as CEO Vincent Landry and Holstein Canada's Manager of Business Technology Solutions Aaron Neely.

The Board thanks all committee members for their time, effort and dedication to the Association. Thank you to outgoing Breed Advisory Committee members Ian Crosbie and Josh Ireland. Special thanks also to Dr. Gord Atkins, who provided many years of expertise to guide the Classification Advisory Committee and is taking leave; Holstein Canada expresses much gratitude to Gord for his years serving on this Committee and for helping us improve the Canadian system.

Committee members represent all regions across Canada and are selected for their respective expertise relating to a committee's area of concern. These individuals

are selected by the Holstein Canada President, with consultation from the Board of Directors and Provincial Branches.

Each year, the newly elected Board reviews and updates the committees. Terms range from one to three years, with members eligible to be reappointed for second and third terms, depending on the committee. Board Directors serve on each committee and every committee is also supported by Management Advisors from Holstein Canada's team. Ideas, comments and suggestions from all Holstein Canada members are always welcomed by committee members. One of the key roles of Committees is to provide recommendations to the Board of Directors on the follow up to the member resolutions presented at recent Holstein Canada AGMs. They also do the "leg work" to ensure Holstein Canada programs and services remain current in a rapidly changing industry.

Holstein Canada hosts eleven committees. The 2020 committees list can be found below; contact information can be found at the Holstein Canada website under: About Us > Governance > Committees.

Holstein Canada Committee	Committee Members/Resource Persons
Audit, Risk Management and Finance	Angus Mackinnon (QC)
Ben Cuthbert (BC) – Chair	Harold Sweetnam (SK/MB)
	Doug Peart (ON)
	Vince Bosquet
	Lorna Fothergill
	Vincent Landry
Awards Committee	Elyse Gendron (QC)
Karen Versloot (NB) – Chair	Doug Peart (ON)
	Émilie-Sophie Parenteau (QC)
	Linda Ness
	Pat Hill
Breed Advisory Committee	Ben Cuthbert (BC)
Benoît Turmel (QC)- Chair	Nancy Beerwort (ON)
	Jason Rietveld (AB)
	Tony Van Lith (ON)
	Olivier Leclerc (QC)
	Jean-Claude Fleury (QC)
	Phillip Vroegh (NS)
	Dr. Gordon Atkins (AB)
	Lynsay Beavers (ON) – maternity leave
	Dr. Matt Walker (ON)

	Carolin Turner
	Bruno Jubinville
	Brad Eggink
	Vincent Landry
Classification Advisory Committee	Benoît Turmel (QC)
Dennis Werry (ON) – Chair	Cindy Wikkerink (BC)
	Dr. Matt Walker (ON)
	Dan Aitken (ON)
	Brian Carscadden (ON)
	Todd Nixon (ON)
	Thierry Jaton (QC)
	Tyler Howard (PEI)
	Carolin Turner
	Bruno Jubinville
	Brad Eggink
Cow of the Year Committee	Jeff Donohoe (MB)
Elyse Gendron (QC) – Chair	Hugh Hunter (ON)
	Pier-Olivier Lehoux (QC)
	Matt Clarke (NB)
	Linda Ness
Data and Technology Committee	Nancy Beerwort (ON)
Elyse Gendron (QC) – Chair	Benoît Turmel (QC)
	Doug Peart (ON)
	Aaron Neely
	Vincent Landry
Election Committee	
Glen McNeil (ON) – Chair	
Governance Committee	Harold Sweetnam (SK / MB)
Angus MacKinnon (QC) – Chair	Gerald Schipper (ON)
	Ben Cuthbert (BC)
	Elyse Gendron (QC)
	Vincent Landry
National/Branch Joint Meeting Representatives	Willem Vanderlinde (AB)
Angus MacKinnon (QC) – Chair	Gerald Schipper (ON)
	Dennis Werry (ON)
	Karen Versloot (NB)

Show and Judging Committee	Dennis Weary (ON)
Nancy Beerwort (ON) – Chair	Kenton Lindenbach (SK)
	Ari Eikstein (ON)
	Dan Doner (ON)
	Scott Brethet (ON)
	Kim Côté (QC)
	Pierre Boulet (QC)
	Jeff Bysterveldt (PEI)
	Linda Ness
Young Leaders Advisory Committee	Willem Vanderlinde (AB)
Laurence Boulet (QC) – Chair	Karen Versloot (NB)
	Lars Iversen (AB)
	Mike Flaman (SK)
	Ryan Wert (ON)
	Olivier Roy-Tanguay (QC)
	Cynthia Campbell (NS)
	Alex Dolson (ON)
	Linda Ness