

Media Release

HOLSTEIN CANADA, 20 CORPORATE PLACE, BRANTFORD, ONTARIO CANADA N3T 5R4 PHONE | 519-756-8300 | 1-855-756-8300 | FAX | 519-756-5878 | WEB | WWW.HOLSTEIN.CA

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE 06/14/2019

Contact: Steven Spriensma, Communications Coordinator

Phone: 519-756-8300 ext. 234

sspriensma@holstein.ca

Holstein Canada Announces 2019-2020 Committees

Brantford, ON – Holstein Canada is pleased to reveal the 2019-2020 Committees, ensuring the Board of Directors continues to receive input from its grassroots membership and industry partners.

This year, Holstein Canada has made nine new additions from six different provinces, standing by our commitment to add young members from across the Holstein community to provide new perspectives. The new members are: Mike Flaman and Lars Iversen on the Young Leader Advisory Committee; Jean-Claude Fleury on the Breed Advisory Committee; Tyler Howard and Cindy Wikkerink on the Classification Advisory Committee; Hugh Hunter and Pier-Olivier Lehoux on the Cow of the Year Committee; Kenton Lindenbach to the Show and Judging Committee; and Dr. Matt Walker on the Breed Advisory and Classification Advisory Committees.

Mike Flaman (Vibank, Saskatchewan) milks 67 cows under the CHRIS-ADIE prefix. He plans to take over the management and ownership of the family business from his parents with his younger brother. Mike has had the opportunity to judge a few shows in Alberta and Saskatchewan, and he sits on the 2020 National Holstein Convention Committee. Mike was also an active Western Canadian Classic participant.

Jean-Claude Fleury (Victoriaville, Quebec) won a second Master Breeder Shield for the FLEURY prefix in 2018. The herd of 250 includes 19 EX, 61 VG, and 29 GP, and the farm is based on deep cow families with numerous EX and VG animals in their lineage. Jean-Claude is a graduate of the Institut de technologie agroalimentaire in Saint-Hyacinthe, and he is an official judge. His extensive knowledge of breeding makes him a major asset for the Breed Advisory Committee.

Tyler Howard (Breadalbane, P.E.I.) co-manages the family herd of 240 of the HOWARDVALE prefix, yet finds time to be very engaged in the industry. He is

currently a Board member of the Dairy Farmers of PEI and recently stepped down as President of the Holstein PEI Branch.

Hugh Hunter (Smiths Falls, Ontario) is a three-time Master Breeder of the prefix MAPLE-AIN, which he purchased with his wife from his father Gerald in 2003. He graduated with a Bachelor of Science in Agriculture from the University of Guelph. He has judged many regional, county, and 4-H Achievement shows across Ontario and Quebec, as well as multiple Breeders' Cup shows.

Lars Iversen (Olds, Alberta) of the prefix INNISLAKE is currently completing his degree in Agribusiness at the University of Saskatchewan. Growing up firmly in the dairy community, Lars was the Vice-President of the Mountain View 4-H Dairy Club and an active participant at many Western Canadian Classics.

Pier-Olivier Lehoux (Saint-Elzéar, Quebec) of the prefix LEHOUX works with a herd of 70 cows. He is passionate about cow families, making him a great asset for the Cow of the Year Committee. A recent graduate of Université Laval, he is very engaged in the dairy industry and had a very active 4-H career.

Kenton Lindenbach (Balgonie, Saskatchewan) represents the third generation at ROBELLA Holsteins, which he runs with his wife, Alicia, and his parents. He has just finished his last year on the Young Leader Advisory Committee, where he has helped evolve the program since 2015. He is active in marketing commercial cattle and enjoys judging, and he has judged provincial and 4-H shows in B.C., Alberta, and at The Royal Agricultural Winter Fair.

Dr. Matt Walker (Ingersoll, Ontario) is a veterinarian and partner at Oxford Bovine Veterinary Services in Woodstock, Ontario, which services southwestern Ontario. He is a graduate of the Atlantic Veterinary College. As a dairy farm consultant, Matt has traveled to China, Russia, Mexico, the United States, and throughout Canada. He is also a strong supporter of the 4-H program.

Cindy Wikkerink (Cobble Hill, British Columbia) is a two-time Master Breeder under the WILLSWIKK prefix and a third-generation milk producer, raising 60 EX, 115 VG, 25 G+, 2 EX cows at 95pts. She served as Director and Secretary at Vancouver Island Holstein Club, and was a past participant in 4-H and WCC. In 2018, the cow *Willswikk Outside Della* became the first British Columbian-bred finalist for Cow of the Year. For the last 5 years, Cindy has had her own prefix, WIKKSHAVEN.

Holstein Canada thanks all committee members for their time, effort and dedication to the Association. Special thanks to outgoing committee members Markus Hehli,

Jocelyn Nault, Tom Hawman, Kenton Lindenbach, Mike Barnum, Mathieu Lemire, and DR Vandraager.

Committee members represent all regions across Canada and are selected for their respective expertise relating to a committee's area of concern. These individuals are selected by the Holstein Canada President, with consultation from the Board of Directors and Provincial Branches.

Each year, the newly elected Board reviews and updates the committees. Terms range from one to three years, with members eligible to be reappointed for second and third terms, depending on the committee. Board Directors serve on each committee and every committee is also supported by Management Advisors from Holstein Canada's team. Ideas, comments and suggestions from all Holstein Canada members are always welcomed by committee members. One of the key roles of Committees is to provide recommendations to the Board of Directors on the follow up to the member resolutions presented at recent Holstein Canada AGMs. They also do the "leg work" to ensure Holstein Canada programs and services remain current in a rapidly changing industry.

Holstein Canada hosts ten committees. The 2019-2020 committees list can be found below; contact information can be found at the Holstein Canada website under: <u>About Us > Governance > Committees</u>.

Holstein Canada Committee	Committee Members
Audit, Risk Management and Finance	Ben Cuthbert (BC)
Nancy Beerwort (ON) – Chair	Gilles Côté (QC)
	Harry Van der Linden (Atlantic)
	Vince Bosquet
	Lorna Fothergill
	Ann Louise Carson
Awards Committee	Ron Boerchers (SK/MB)
Doug Peart (ON) – Chair	Harry Van der Linden (Atlantic)
	Linda Ness
Breed Advisory Committee	Gilles Côté (QC)
Ben Cuthbert (BC) – Chair	Benoît Turmel (QC)
	Olivier Leclerc (QC)

	Jean-Claude Fleury (QC)
	Phillip Vroegh (NS)
	Ian Crosbie (SK)
	Josh Ireland (ON)
	Dr. Gordon Atkins (AB)
	Lynsay Beavers (ON) – maternity leave
	Dr. Matt Walker (ON)
	Brad Eggink
	Ann Louise Carson
Classification Advisory Committee	Benoît Turmel (QC)
Dennis Werry (ON) – Chair	Cindy Wikkerink (BC)
	Dr. Gordon Atkins (AB)
	Dr. Matt Walker (ON)
	Dan Aitken (ON)
	Brian Carscadden (ON)
	Todd Nixon (ON)
	Thierry Jaton (QC)
	Tyler Howard (PEI)
	Carolin Turner
	Brad Eggink
Cow of the Year Committee	Jeff Donohoe (MB)
Ron Boerchers (SK/MB) – Chair	Hugh Hunter (ON)
	Pier-Olivier Lehoux (QC)
	Matt Clarke (NB)
	Linda Ness
Election Committee	
Glen McNeil (ON) – Chair	
Governance Committee	Gerald Schipper (ON)
Angus MacKinnon (QC) – Chair	Doug Peart (ON)

Elyse Gendron (QC)
Ann Louise Carson
Willem Vanderlinde (AB)
Gerald Schipper (ON)
Dennis Werry (ON)
Angus MacKinnon (QC)
Ann Louise Carson
Dennis Weary (ON)
Kenton Lindenbach (SK)
Ari Eikstein (ON)
Dan Doner (ON)
Scott Brethet (ON)
Kim Coté (QC)
Pierre Boulet (QC)
Jeff Bysterveldt (PEI)
Linda Ness
Willem Vanderlinde (AB)
Angus MacKinnon (QC)
Lars Iversen (AB)
Mike Flaman (SK)
Ryan Wert (ON)
Olivier Roy-Tanguay (QC)
Cynthia Campbell (NS)
Alex Dolson (ON)
Linda Ness