

media release

HOLSTEIN CANADA, 20 CORPORATE PLACE, BRANTFORD, ONTARIO CANADA N3T 5R4 PHONE | 519-756-8300 | 1-855-756-8300 | FAX | 519-756-5878 | WEB | WWW.HOLSTEIN.CA

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

June 8, 2015

Contact: Jennifer Kyle

Phone: 519-756-8300 ex. 234

<u>ikyle@holstein.ca</u>

Committees Keep Holstein Canada Connected

Brantford, ON – Governed by members for members, Holstein Canada is pleased to reveal the 2015-2016 committees, ensuring the Board of Directors has input from its grassroots membership and industry partners. Nine Holstein Canada committees and one working group exist. Committee members represent all regions across Canada and are selected for their respective expertise relating to a committee's area of concern.

Each year, the committee list is reviewed and updated. Depending on the committee, terms range from one to three years, with members eligible to be reappointed for second and third terms. Board Directors serve on each committee and every committee is also supported by Management Advisors from Holstein Canada's team.

Along with the existing committees, Holstein Canada Board members represent the membership on various Industry Boards and Committees, such as the CDN Board, DFC Biosecurity Committee and the CDN Genetic Evaluation Board open sessions.

Holstein Canada is pleased to welcome three new committee members to three of the 10 committees. The following are the 2015-2016 committee lists – new members are bolded and denoted with an asterisk. A brief biography of the new committee members follows.

Holstein Canada Committee	Committee Members
Audit, Risk Management and Finance	*Ralph Martin (ON)
Orville Schmidt (AB) – Committee Chair	Ron Boerchers (MB)
	Harry Van der Linden (NS)
	Doug Peart (ON)
Awards	Nancy Beerwort (ON)
Ron Boerchers (MB) – Committee Chair	Doug Peart (ON)
Breed Advisory	Ian Crosbie (SK)
Elyse Gendron (QC) – Committee Chair	*Olivier Leclerc (QC)
	Josh Ireland (ON)
	Mathieu Lemire (QC)
	John Schenkels (NB)
	Gilles Côté (QC)
Classification Advisory	D.R. Vaandrager (BC)
Gerald Schipper (ON) – Committee Chair	Callum McKinven (QC)
	Bloyce Thompson (PE)
	Frank Donkers (ON)
	*Dan Aitken (ON)
	Dr. Gordon Atkins (AB) - Veterinarian
	Brian Carscadden (ON) – Al Rep
	Ben Cuthbert (BC)
Cow of the Year – working group of Awards committee	Tom Hawman (ON)
Ron Boerchers (MB)– Committee Chair	Jocelyn Nault (QC)
	Lorne Briscoe (ON)

	Stéphane Dufour (QC)
Election	Kevin Werry (ON)
Glen McNeil (ON) – Committee Chair	James Cranston (ON)
Governance	Robert Chabot (QC)
Elyse Gendron (QC) – Committee Chair	John Buckley (ON)
	Angus Mackinnon (QC)
National/Branch Joint Meeting	John Buckley (ON)
Representatives	Robert Chabot (QC)
Harry Van der Linden (NS) – Committee Chair	Doug Peart (ON)
	Ben Cuthbert (BC)
Show	Herb Henderson (ON)
Orville Schmidt (AB) – Committee Chair	Markus Hehli (AB)
	John Devries (ON)
	Tyler Doiron (QC)
	Alan Hawthorne (ON)
	Thierry Jaton (QC)
	Jamie Lewis (PE)
	Nancy Beerwort (ON)
Young Leader Advisory	Kenton Lindenbach (SK)
Angus Mackinnon (QC) – Committee Chair	Stephanie Warner-Murphy (ON)
	Nick Brown (NB)
	Mélissa Marcoux (QC)

Ralph Martin (ONTOWA) – Ralph joins the Audit, Risk Management and Finance Committee out of Elmira, Ontario where he farms with his wife, Judy, and sons, Phil and Ryan. The family is the fourth generation to milk cows and milks 100 cows and farms 280 acres of which they use 90% for feed. The Martins focus on the basics every day in all aspects of the operation, while still making sure everyone receives time off as needed. Ralph served a full 12-year term as a Gay Lea delegate during which he took eight modules on leadership and governance. Additionally he served three years on the Board of Directors for the Mennonite Savings Bank, six years on the Milk Committee (including two years as chair, and is a Past President of both the Waterloo Holstein Club and United Breeders.

Olivier Leclerc (PARKHURST) – Joining the Breed Advisory Committee, Olivier is from St-Patrice-de-Beaurivage, Québec, where he milks 60 cows with his wife, in-laws and sister-in-law. He worked on this farm for four years and has been a co-owner since January 2015. Following his graduation from the Dairy Production program at St. Anselme, Olivier invested in genetics with various partners under his own prefix of CLEROLI, allowing him the opportunity to meet and work with great people and cows. He is active in the industry having heavy involvement with the Lotbinière Holstein Club and serving as a speaker at a past CDN Forum.

Dan Aitken (MAIFIELD) – Dan joins the Classification Advisory Committee out of Bowmanville, Ontario where he farms with his wife, Nancy, Nancy's parents Ron and Brenda, and her sister and brother-in-law. The family milks 150 cows, and the farm also includes both layer and cash crop operations. Currently their herd is home to 21 EX cows and 108 VG. Additionally, they bred the Reserve All-Canadian Jr 3-YR-OLD in 2014. Dan brings great experience to the Classification Committee having served nine years as a Holstein Canada classifier and four years as a dairy nutritionist with Grand Valley Fortifiers prior to farming.

The Holstein Canada Board of Directors would like to thank the following committee members for their dedication over the years: Ed Bennett (ON); Francis Paquet (QC); and Ben Loewith (ON).

Holstein Canada thanks all committee members for their time, effort and dedication to the Association. The committees are an important part in ensuring the Holstein Canada Board of Directors receives feedback and suggestions from the membership. Ideas, comments and suggestions from all Holstein Canada members are always welcomed by committee members.