

media release

HOLSTEIN CANADA, 20 CORPORATE PLACE, BRANTFORD, ONTARIO CANADA N3T 5R4 PHONE | 519-756-8300 | 1-855-756-8300 FAX | 519-756-5878 WEB | WWW.HOLSTEIN.CA

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE June 23, 2014 Contact: Jennifer Kyle Phone: 519-756-8300 ex. 234 jkyle@holstein.ca

Committees Keep Holstein Canada Connected

Brantford, ON – Governed by members for members, Holstein Canada is pleased to reveal the 2014-2015 committees that ensure the Holstein Canada Board of Directors has input from its grassroots membership and industry partners. 10 Holstein Canada committees and one working group exist. Committee members represent all regions across Canada and are selected for their respective expertise relating to a committee's area of concern.

Each year, the committee list is reviewed and updated to ensure new members are appointed as necessary when existing committee members' terms come to an end. Depending on the committee, terms vary and range from one to three years with members eligible to be reappointed for a second term. Board Directors serve on each committee and every committee is also supported by Management Advisors from Holstein Canada's staff.

Along with the existing Holstein Canada committees, Board members represent the membership on various Industry Boards and Committees as such CDN Board, DFC Farm Biosecurity Committee and the Genetic Evaluation Board open sessions.

Holstein Canada is pleased to welcome four new committee members to four of the 10 committees. The following are the 2014-2015 committee lists – new members are bolded and denoted with an asterisk. A brief biography of the new members follows the committee lists.

Holstein Canada Committee	Committee Members
Audit, Risk Management and Finance	Ed Bennett (ON)
Ron Sleeth (ON) – Committee Chair	Robert Chabot (QC)
	Harry Van Der Linden (NS)
	Orville Schmidt (AB)
Awards	Ron Boerchers (MB)
Richard Bosma (BC) – Committee Chair	Doug Peart (ON)
Breed Advisory	*lan Crosbie (SK)
Elyse Gendron (QC) – Committee Chair	Francis Paquet (QC)
	Josh Ireland (ON)
	Mathieu Lemire (QC)
	John Schenkels (NB)
	Orville Schmidt (AB)
Classification Advisory	D.R. Vaandrager (BC)
Robert Chabot (QC) – Committee Chair	Callum McKinven (QC)
	Bloyce Thompson (PE)
	Frank Donkers (ON)
	Ben Loewith (ON)
	Dr. Gordon Atkins (AB) - Veterinarian
	Brian Carscadden (ON) – Al Rep
	Gerald Schipper (ON)

Cow of the Year – working group of Awards committee	Tom Hawman (ON)
Richard Bosma (BC) – Committee Chair	Jocelyn Nault (QC)
(DC) = COmmutee Chair	Lorne Briscoe (ON)
	Stéphane Dufour (QC)
Election	Kevin Werry (ON)
*Glen McNeil (ON) – Committee Chair	James Cranston (ON)
Governance	Ralph Dietrich (ON)
Gerald Schipper (ON) – Committee Chair	Elyse Gendron (QC)
	Mario Perreault (QC)
	John Buckley (ON)
National/Branch Joint Meeting	Gilles Côté (QC)
Representatives	Mario Perreault (QC)
Ron Boerchers (MB) – Committee Chair	John Buckley (ON)
	Harry Van Der Linden (NS)
Show	*Herb Henderson (ON)
Orville Schmidt (AB) – Committee Chair	Markus Hehli (AB)
	John Devries (ON)
	Tyler Doiron (QC)
	Alan Hawthorne (ON)
	Thierry Jaton (QC)
	Jamie Lewis (PE)
	Robert Chabot (QC)
Young Leader Advisory	*Kenton Lindenbach (SK)
Harry Van Der Linden (NS) Committee Chair	Stephanie Warner-Murphy (ON)
	Nick Brown (NB)
	Mélissa Marcoux (QC)
Trade / Health	John Buckley (ON)
	Robert Chabot (QC)
	Dr. Guy Boisclair (QC)

Ian Crosbie (BENBIE) – Ian joins the Breed Advisory Committee out of Caron, Saskatchewan where he farms with his wife, Nicole, and parents, Neil and BJ. The family milks 135 cows and farms 800 acres of cash crop, with an additional 1,200 acres of hay and pasture land. Ian selects top genetics for breeding, and uses genomic testing and classification to identify the top genetics within their herd. He attended the 2014 National Holstein Convention in Sherbrooke, QC and is excited about the Breed Strategy launched at the AGM.

Herb Henderson (HENDERCROFT) – Joining the Show Committee is Herb Henderson from Ashton, Ontario. Herb farms with his wife, Darlene, and one employee. They milk 50 – 55 cows as well as growing some cash crops and custom hay. The Hendercroft herd received a Master Breeder shield in 2001, and has a number of show accolades as well as a number of All-Ontario and All-Canadian nominations. Herb is an Official Judge, Past President and current Director of the Carleton/Russell Holstein Club, Councillor on the Ontario Holstein Council, and is on the All-Ontario Judges Committee.

Kenton Lindenbach (ROBELLA) – Kenton joins the Young Leader Advisory Committee as the Western Canada rep. He hails from Balgonie, Saskatchewan where he farms with his father, Reg, and brother, Braden. The family milks 66 cows and crops 2,000 acres with an additional 500 acres of hay. Kenton has participated in the Western Canadian Classic (WCC) for eight years, also helping on the prep team when possible. In addition to his farm responsibilities, he does some brokering and export work. Kenton has attended a number of Holstein Canada conventions, and has enjoyed the Young Leader programing.

Glen McNeil (HEATHER HOLME) – Glen joins the Election Committee with a great deal of Holstein Canada experience. Glen is a Past President, past National Director representing Western Ontario for nine years, and co-chair of the 2012 World Holstein Conference. Prior to his involvement with Holstein Canada, Glen served as a Director on the Ontario Holstein Board for 10 years and is also a Past President at the provincial level. A three-time Master Breeder, Glen milks 50 cows and farms 200 acres with his wife, Vanda and son, Curtis in Goderich, Ontario.

The Holstein Canada Board of Directors would like to thank the following 2013-2014 committee members who have completed their terms: Court Carmichael (ON); Joop Garretsen (AB); Tom Mufford (SK); and Jason Vis (ON).

Holstein Canada thanks all committee members for their time, effort and dedication to the Association. The committees are an important part in ensuring the Holstein Canada Board of Directors receives feedback and suggestions from the membership. Ideas, comments and suggestions from all Holstein Canada members are always welcomed by committee members.

###