

20 Corporate Place Brantford, ON, N3T 5R4



For Immediate Release

Contact: Christina Crowley Tel: 519-756-8300 ext. 233 ccrowley@holstein.ca

Holstein Canada Committees: Grassroots Members Selected to Represent Membership

Brantford, August 10th, 2012 – Holstein Canada is governed by members — *for members*. This rings true at the Board level where 10 members are elected by their peers to direct the association by serving on the Board of Directors. The Board then relies heavily on more extensive grassroots input by selecting 30 committee members for the 11 Holstein Canada committees that exist at the Association. Members are chosen from all regions across Canada for their respective expertise relating to a committee's subject matter. These committees are an integral part in ensuring Holstein Canada's Board of Directors has input and suggestions from its grassroots members and industry partners in forward-thinking for the betterment of the Association. Terms vary, depending on committees, for one to three years, and members may be reappointed for a second term. New committee members are appointed when necessary, as existing committee members' terms come to an end. A majority of committees have Board representation of two Board members, with one being chairperson, along with external members, and all committees are supported by a staff member at Holstein Canada.

For the coming year, the Board of Directors of Holstein Canada is pleased to work with the following members who have been selected to represent their membership by sitting on the subsequent committees:

Holstein Canada Committee	Committee Representation
Audit, Risk Management and Finance Mario Perreault (Qc) (Committee Chair)	Kevin Smith (ON) Ron Boerchers (MB) Ron Sleeth (ON)
Awards Elyse Gendron (Qc) (Committee Chair)	Richard Bosma (BC) Harry Van Der Linden (NS)
Breed Advisory Harry Van Der Linden (NS) (Committee Chair)	Gilles Côté (QC) Joop Garretsen (AB) Dennis E. Martin (ON) John Schenkels (NB) Richard Bosma (BC)

Classification Advisory Robert Chabot (Qc) (Committee Chair)	Frank Donkers (ON) Calvin Fornwald (SK) Ben Loewith (ON) Callum McKinven (Qc) Bloyce Thompson (PEI) Dr. Gord Atkins (AB)- veterinarian Brian Carscadden (ON)- AI rep Mario Perrault (Qc)
Cow of the Year Orville Schmidt (AB) (Committee Chair)	Lorne Briscoe (ON) Stéphane Dufour (QC) Éric Laliberté (QC) Dave McMorrow (ON)`
Election Court Carmichael (ON) (Committee Chair)	Terry Charlton (ON) James Cranston (ON)
Governance Ron Sleeth (ON) (Committee Chair)	Martin Caron (QC) Richard Bosma (BC) Elyse Gendron (Qc) Glen McNeil (ON)
National/Branch Joint Meeting Representatives Orville Schmidt (AB) (Committee Chair)	Richard Bosma (BC) Elyse Gendron (Qc) Glen McNeil (ON) Harry Van Der Linden (NS)
Show John Buckley (ON) (Committee Chair)	Dale Bienert (AB) John Devries (ON) Tyler Doiron (QC) Thierry Jaton (QC) Jamie Lewis (PEI) Jason Vis (ON) Robert Chabot (Qc)
Youth Adult Program Robert Chabot (Qc) (Committee Chair)	Nick Brown (NB) Will Judge (ON) Melissa Marcoux (QC) Tom Mufford (SK)
Animal Health	Dr. Guy Boisclair (QC) John Buckley (ON)

Holstein Canada thanks the above committee members for their time, effort, and dedication to the Association and welcomes ideas, comments and suggestions from all Holstein Canada members. Feel free to contact any Board or Committee member to share input into YOUR association!