

Media Release

HOLSTEIN CANADA, 20 CORPORATE PLACE, BRANTFORD, ONTARIO CANADA N3T 5R4 PHONE | 519-756-8300 | 1-855-756-8300 | FAX | 519-756-5878 | WEB | WWW.HOLSTEIN.CA

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

June 28, 2016

Contact: Jennifer Kyle

Phone: 519-756-8300 ex. 234

ikyle@holstein.ca

Committees Keep Holstein Canada Connected

Brantford, ON – Governed by members for members, Holstein Canada is pleased to reveal the 2016-2017 committees, ensuring the Board of Directors has input from its grassroots membership and industry partners. Nine Holstein Canada committees and one working group exist. Committee members represent all regions across Canada and are selected for their respective expertise relating to a committee's area of concern.

Each year, the committee list is reviewed and updated. Depending on the committee, terms range from one to three years, with members eligible to be reappointed for second and third terms. Board Directors serve on each committee and every committee is also supported by Management Advisors from Holstein Canada's team.

Along with the existing committees, Holstein Canada Board members represent the membership on various Industry Boards and Committees, such as the CDN Board, DFC Biosecurity Committee and the CDN Genetic Evaluation Board open sessions.

Holstein Canada is pleased to welcome six new committee members to three of the nine committees. The following are the 2016-2017 committee lists – new members are bolded and denoted with an asterisk. A brief biography of the new committee members follows.

Holstein Canada Committee	Committee Members
Audit, Risk Management and Finance	Ralph Martin (ON)
Harry Van der Linden (NS) – Chair	Ron Boerchers (MB)
	Doug Peart (ON)
	Elyse Gendron (QC)
Awards	Nancy Beerwort (ON)
Doug Peart (ON) – Chair	Ron Boerchers (MB)
	Elyse Gendron (QC)
Breed Advisory	Ian Crosbie (SK)
Gilles Côté (QC) – Chair	Olivier Leclerc (QC)
	Josh Ireland (ON)
	Mathieu Lemire (QC)
	John Schenkels (NB)
	Ben Cuthbert (BC)
Classification Advisory	*Thierry Jaton (QC)
Gerald Schipper (ON) – Chair	D.R. Vaandrager (BC)
	Callum McKinven (QC)

Bloyce Thompson (PE)
Dan Aitken (ON)
Dr. Gordon Atkins (AB) – Veterinarian
Brian Carscadden (ON) – Al Rep
Ben Cuthbert (BC)
Tom Hawman (ON)
Jocelyn Nault (QC)
Lorne Briscoe (ON)
Stéphane Dufour (QC)
Kevin Werry (ON)
James Cranston (ON)
Robert Chabot (QC)
Angus Mackinnon (QC)
Orville Schmidt (AB)
Robert Chabot (QC)
Elyse Gendron (QC)
Harry Van der Linden (NS)
Orville Schmidt (AB)
Markus Hehli (AB)
John Devries (ON)
Tyler Doiron (QC)
Alan Hawthorne (ON)
*Jeff Bysterveldt (PE)
*Ari Ekstein (ON)
*Kim Côté (QC)
Dennis Werry (ON)
Kenton Lindenbach (SK)
Stephanie Warner-Murphy (ON)
*Sarah MacDonnell (NS)
*Laurence Boulet (QC)

Thierry Jaton (PROVETAZ) – Thierry joins the Classification Advisory Committee out of Québec where he and his family milk 125 cows under the Provetaz prefix. The herd received a Master Breeder Shield in 2003, and Thierry is an Official Judge having judged many shows on the local, provincial, national and international levels. Thierry is involved with the Sherbrooke Holstein Club; the Holstein QC Show Judge Committee; served as a Co-chair of the 2014 National Holstein Convention Committee; and most recently completed four years of service on the National Show Committee.

Jeff Bysterveldt (WINTERBAY) – Jeff joins the Show Committee, hailing from Prince Edward Island where the Bysterveldts milk 80 cows in a tie-stall under the Winterbay prefix. A regular exhibitor at shows in Atlantic Canada, the herd received its first Master Breeder Shield in 2015. Jeff has served as a Director and President of the PEI Holstein Branch and the Eastern PEI Holstein Club. Additionally, he represented PEI at the Atlantic Promotions meetings and is currently an EastGen delegate.

Kim Côté (BLONDIN) – Also joining the Show Committee, Kim is from Quebec where she and her family milk 130 cows in a tie-stall facility under the well-known Blondin prefix. For many years, Ferme Blondin has participated in many shows at the local, provincial, national and international levels each year – including both the Royal Agricultural Winter Fair and World Dairy Expo. Ferme Blondin has bred and shown many class winners and champions, and has received numerous Premier Exhibitor and Premier Breeder banners.

Ari Ekstein (QUALITY) – Ari re-joins the Show Committee having previously served on this committee from 2002-2007, and chairing it in 2006 and 2007. The Eksteins milk 72 cows in a tie-stall

and box-stall facility in Ontario. Participating in many shows throughout the year, the Quality herd is well-known and has enjoyed much success in the show ring. Ari is passionate about both showing and the Holstein industry. He is the current Royal Dairy Cattle Committee President and welcomes the opportunity to channel more of his passion into leadership for this important part of the industry.

Laurence Boulet (BOULET) – Laurence will serve as the Québec representative on the Young Leader Advisory Committee. Laurence grew up on Ferme Boulet, where her family milks 140 cows. Currently, the two-time Master Breeder herd is operated by her brother, in partnership with her parents. Laurence has been heavily involved with a number of youth activities, including the Bellechasse-Montmagny CJR; her local young farmers club; and Expo-Poc, the college Royal at ITA La Pocatière where she studied Animal Production Technology. Laurence is currently pursuing her Agriculture degree at Laval University.

Sarah MacDonnell – Sarah joins the Young Leader Advisory committee as the Atlantic representative. From Nova Scotia, Sarah became passionate about the industry through her involvement in 4-H, partnering on animals and working on the show circuit across North America. She earned her BSc in Animal Science from Nova Scotia Agricultural College in 2015 and currently works as a Genetic Advisor for the Nova Scotia Animal Breeder Coop.

The Holstein Canada Board of Directors would like to thank the following committee members for their dedication over the years: Frank Donkers (ON); Herb Henderson (ON); Jamie Lewis (PE); Nick Brown (NB); and Mélissa Marcoux (QC).

Holstein Canada thanks all committee members for their time, effort and dedication to the Association. The committees play an important part in ensuring the Holstein Canada Board of Directors receives feedback and suggestions from the membership. Ideas, comments and suggestions from all Holstein Canada members are always welcomed by committee members.