

20 Corporate Place Brantford, ON, N3T 5R4

## MediaRelease

## For Immediate Release

Contact: Christina Crowley Tel: 519-756-8300 ext. 233 ccrowley@holstein.ca

## **New Members Strengthen Grassroots Committees**

**Brantford, July 18, 2013 –** Holstein Canada is governed by members — *for members.* 11 Holstein Canada Committees exist at the Association, with selected members chosen from all regions across Canada, for their respective expertise relating to a committee's subject matter. Each year, the committee list is reviewed and updated to ensure new members are appointed when necessary, as existing committee members' terms come to an end. Terms vary, depending on committees, for one to three years, and members may be reappointed for a second term. Each committee is supported by Management Advisors from Holstein Canada's staff as well as Board of Directors who also serve on the committees.

In 2013, the Association is proud to welcome 10 new committee members to eight committees at the Association. The following names denoted with an asterisk and bolded reflect the new members who will join existing committee members to comprise 2013-2014 Association committees:

Holstein Canada Committee	Committee Members
Audit, Risk Management and Finance Ron Sleeth (ON) (Committee Chair)	* Ed Bennett (ON) John Buckley (ON) Gerald Schipper (ON)
Awards Orville Schmidt (AB) (Committee Chair)	Ron Boerchers (MB) Elyse Gendron (QC)
Breed Advisory Harry Van Der Linden (NS) (Committee Chair)	* Francis Paquet (QC)  * Josh Ireland (ON) Joop Garretsen (AB) Mathieu Lemire (QC) John Schenkels (NB) Elyse Gendron (QC)
Classification Advisory Robert Chabot (QC) (Committee Chair)	* D.R. Vaandrager (BC) Callum McKinven (QC) Bloyce Thompson (PE) Frank Donkers (ON) Ben Loewith (ON) Dr. Gord Atkins (AB)- veterinarian Brian Carscadden (ON)- AI rep Gerald Schipper (ON)

Cow of the Year Orville Schmidt (AB) (Committee Chair)	* Tom Hawman (ON) * Jocelyn Nault (QC) Lorne Briscoe (ON) Stéphane Dufour (QC)
Election Court Carmichael (ON) (Committee Chair)	*Kevin Werry (ON) James Cranston (ON)
Governance Elyse Gendron (QC) (Committee Chair)	* Ralph Dietrich (ON) Richard Bosma (BC) Mario Perreault (QC) John Buckley (ON)
National/Branch Joint Meeting Representatives Ron Boerchers (MB) (Committee Chair)	Richard Bosma (BC) Mario Perreault (QC) Ron Sleeth (ON) Harry Van der Linden (NS)
Show Robert Chabot (QC) (Committee Chair)	* Markus Hehli (AB) John Devries (ON) Tyler Doiron (QC) Alan Hawthorne (ON) Thierry Jaton (QC) Jamie Lewis (PE) Jason Vis (ON) Orville Schmidt (AB)
Young Adult Advisory Committee Harry Van Der Linden (NS) (Committee Chair)	*Stephanie Warner-Murphy (ON) Nick Brown (NB) Mélissa Marcoux (QC) Tom Mufford (SK)
Animal Health	Dr. Guy Boisclair (QC) John Buckley (ON)

The Holstein Canada Board of Directors would like to take this opportunity to thank the following 2012-2013 committee members whose terms have ended: Dale Bienert (AB); Martin Caron (QC), Terry Charlton (ON); Gilles Côté (QC); Calvin Fornwald (SK); Will Judge (ON); Eric Laliberté (QC); Dennis Martin (ON); Dave McMorrow (ON); and Kevin Smith (ON).

Holstein Canada would like to thank the committee members for their time, effort, and dedication to the Association. These committees are an integral part in ensuring Holstein Canada's Board of Directors has input and suggestions from its grassroots members and industry partners in forward-thinking for the betterment of the Association. Committee members welcome ideas, comments and suggestions from all Holstein Canada members!

###